The Million Dollar Tattoo

Learning how to turn ideas into action

Lazy is an Opportunity

I’m a lazy person. I always have been, and I probably always will be. It’s in my nature, so the only way that I get things done is by making an effort to push past the slothful veil of ‘I’ll do it later’. That’s something that I’ve been learning to do, and with training, dedication and willpower it can be done. I don’t try to pretend I’m not – I just make an effort to make it a non-issue. This reality got me thinking. It seems that laziness is an inherent trait of human-beings, and that’s actually a fantastic situation, for two main reasons.

1.) It forces us to work on methods to circumvent the urge to minimize our effort. It is character building to acknowledge such a flaw and to research and implement ways to push past it. A lot of the techniques I’ve researched to combat laziness, tardiness and procrastination have helped me in all areas of my life, both personal and professional.

2.) It means that there is an endless array of opportunities for entrepreneurs. Any process, product or service that can minimize effort or streamline a task is valuable to virtually every human-being on the planet. From washing machines to typewriters, chainsaws to microwaves and beyond, minimizing activity or making a tedious task easier is a sure-shot winner. Human-beings are inherently lazy and that is someone to be thankful for.

No comments yet»

Leave a comment